Firestone Urban Renewal Authority

The Firestone Urban Renewal Authority (FURA) has been established to develop and implement a plan to renew and revitalize portions of Firestone. The Firestone Urban Renewal Authority board of commission is comprised of the Board of Trustees, a representative from the Board of County Commissioners for Weld County, as well as a board member of a school district and one of the special districts serving the Firestone Urban Renewal areas.  

Colorado’s Urban Renewal Authorities

Urban renewal provides a set of tools available to local governments to combat slum and blight conditions. Urban Renewal Authorities are public-private partnerships that are often essential to accomplish redevelopment. To learn about the role of public and private roles in urban renewal the Colorado Municipal League (CML) has created a video about Urban Renewal Authorities. 

Firestone Urban Renewal Areas


Southern Urban Renewal Area Map

Northern Urban Renewal Area Map

Central Urban Renewal Area Map

Bighorn Urban Renewal Area Map


Third Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. as needed.  

Agendas & Minutes

Agenda Center | Agendas are available 24 hours prior to the meeting. Minutes are available following approval.


  • Sean Doherty - Chair
  • David Whelan - Vice Chair
  • Drew Peterson
  • Frank Jimenez
  • Don Conyac
  • Doug Sharp
  • Matt Holcomb
  • Scott James - Weld County Commissioner
  • Chico Garcia - St. Vrain Valley School Board
  • Ed Weimer - Frederick Firestone Fire Protection District